Going Vegan for 1 Week – Introduction

Tomorrow I am going Vegan for seven days. Ultimately I would like to be Vegan, or mostly Vegan, but it’s been awhile since I’ve been too careful with how I eat, so I’m going for a trial run. I did go raw a couple of years ago. It was good, but I had hardly any money at the time and didn’t have a lot of access to fresh produce and more “exotic” ingredients, so it didn’t last long.

I started my journey today at Sprouts Farmer’s Market. I bought some of my favorite fruits and vegetables – carrots, broccoli, dark purple grapes, apples and blueberries – and various kinds of granola, raw and unsalted cashews, organic flax seed bread. I even got some non-dairy organic ice cream bars and smart dogs.

I’m sure the first few days aren’t going to be a problem. I generally don’t eat a lot of meat, and I do love vegetables. I’m excited to try out some vegan recipes – including pigs-in-a-blanket with the meat-free hot dogs (or, the pigs are safe in the barn, as the recipe goes) and apple crisp. I sometimes drink coffee in the morning at work, so I got some coconut milk coffee creamer. All together, I only spent $40 for what I estimate to be about a weeks worth of food.

I’m not going vegan because I’m against people eating meat, or dairy. I’m not going to be protesting people wearing fur or marching in any PETA rallies. I really don’t have any ethical problems with eating meat or dairy itself – I do have moral issues with factory-farms and slaughterhouses, which is admittedly where the vast majority of meat and dairy products consumed in the U.S. come from. I’ve been doing a lot of research into the health benefits of going vegan, and it turns out that dairy isn’t all that good for you. I’ve read this before – milk is meant for calves, not humans, and that it is thanks to the lobbying of the dairy industry that we’re bombarded from a young age with the so-called benefits of dairy (Got Milk?). Big surprise there.

I’ll be updating my 7+ day journey with photos, recipes and thoughts, as well as my usual political banter. It’s been very hard finding the time to actually write out my thoughts, although there is never a slow day with news and issues that desperately need my commentary.

This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

